The Doctor is in! Zeta-Jones prescribes for Sexy Soderbergh Thriller

zetajones

Catherine Zeta-Jones will reteam with her “Traffic” director Steven Soderbergh for “Side Effects”, a sexy potboiler thriller in the tradition of “Basic Instinct” and “Jade”, says Deadline.

The Scott Z.Burns script centers on a young woman’s relationship with prescription drugs and frightening husbands.

Blake Lively, Jude Law and Channing Tatum are also in negotiations.

Zeta-Jones will play Dr. Erica Siebert. Lively plays a troubled and depressed woman who is taking serious amounts of prescription drugs, which leads her into a relationship with another doctor (Law). Her intake is ostensibly designed to help her deal with the anxiety surrounding the pending release of her husband (Tatum) from prison.

Interestingly, Zeta-Jones suffers from a bipolar disorder, so the movie may hit close to home to her; it’s possible the theme was what lured her to the project. Last April, the Welsh-actress checked into a clinic to be treated for the condition.