Petroni to Backtrack

petroni

Screen Australia announced today that they’re bankrolling “Backtrack”, a supernatural thriller from “Queen of the Damned” scribe Michael Petroni.

Petroni (“Til Human Voices Wake Us”) wrote and will direct the “spine-chilling” spookfest. Jamie Hilton and Antonia Banard produce.

Psychologist Peter Bowers’ life is thrown into turmoil when he discovers that his patients are the ghosts of people who all died in an accident 20 years previously. Afraid of losing his mind, Peter returns to his home town where he uncovers a terrifying truth which only he can put right. Backtrack is a spine-chilling supernatural thriller in the vein of The Sixth Sense and What Lies Beneath.

Screen Australia’s CEO Ruth Harley said, “Backtrack is an emotionally moving and engaging story with a unique Australian setting that should appeal to a wide audience both here and internationally. It’s great to have Australian writer/director Michael Petroni return home to make this film after gaining a number of significant international writing credits including his most recent, The Rite, which took $96.1 million worldwide.”

“Backtrack” will be distributed by Madman Entertainment.