Ashleigh has the winners of the eighth Rome Film Festival!


The eighth Rome Film Festival has come to an end and has brought with it a list of award winners.

The Best Actor Award has gone to Matthew McConaughey, for his performance in ‘Dallas Buyers Club’.

The film follows McConaughey’s character, party boy Ron Woodroof, who is diagnosed with HIV+ and is given 30 days to live. As a result, he sources illegal drugs internationally and starts the Dallas Buyers Club, providing alternate treatment to other sufferers. But when the cops find out, all hell breaks loose.

Directed by Jean-Marc Vallée, the film also took out the Audience Award for Best Film.

Scarlett Johansson has won the Best Actress award for ‘Her’, despite not appearing onscreen at all during the film. Johansson voices Samantha, an operating system – think Iphone’s Siri – which a lonely writer develops a relationship with.

The Warner Bros pic is set for limited release on December 18 and will be widely available in January.

The Best Director went to Kiyoshi Kurosawa for ‘Sebunsu kodo’ (Seventh Code’).

See the full list of winners below.



Golden Marc’Aurelio Award for Best Film: Tir by Alberto Fasulo

Best Director Award: Kiyoshi Kurosawa for Sebunsu kodo (Seventh Code)

Special Jury Prize: Quod Erat Demonstrandum by Andrei Gruzsniczk

Best Actor Award: Matthew McConaughey for Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actress Award: Scarlett Johansson for Her

Award for Emerging Actor or Actress: the entire cast of Gass (Acrid)

Award for Best Technical Contribution: Koichi Takahashi for Sebunsu kodo (Seventh Code)

Award for Best Screenplay: Tayfun Pirselimoğlu for Ben o değilim (I Am Not Him)

Special Mention: Cui Jian for Lanse gutou (Blue Sky Bones)



CinemaXXI Award for Best Film (reserved for feature-length films): Nepal Forever by Aliona Polunina

CinemaXXI Special Jury Prize (reserved for feature-length films):Birmingemskij ornament 2 (Birmingham Ornament 2) by Andrey Silvestrov and Yury Leiderman

CinemaXXI Award for Short Films: Der Unfertige (The Incomplete) by Jan Soldat

Special Mention CinemaXXI Short Films: The Buried Alive Videos by Roee Rosen



Premio Doc It – Prospettive Italia Doc for the Best Italian Documentary: Dal profondo by Valentina Pedicini

Special Mention: Fuoristrada by Elisa Amoruso



Taodue Golden Camera Award for Best First/Second Film: Out of the Furnace by Scott Cooper

Taodue Award for the Best Emerging Producer: Jean Denis Le Dinahet and Sébastien Msika for Il sud è niente



BNL Audience Award for Best Film: Dallas Buyers Club by Jean-Marc Vallée