in ,

Ted Lasso steals the Emmys! (with wins for The Crown and Easttown too!)

First-time nominees and stars Jason Sudeikis, Hannah Waddingham and Brett Goldstein nabbed their first-ever Emmy Awards

“Ted Lasso”, “The Queen’s Gambit” and “The Crown” took home the majority of statues at tonight’s Emmy Awards.

Olivia Colman and Josh O’Connor from “The Crown” snagged best actors in a Drama, Kate Winslet was named best actress in a Limited Series – Drama for “The Mare of Easttown” and Ewan McGregor won the male equivalent for “Halston”, while former “X-Files” star Gillian Anderson sent the Twittersphere into a frenzy with best supporting actor win in “The Crown”.

The best drama series went to Netflix’s “The Crown”, while Apple TV+ snagged best comedy with “Ted Lasso”.

Apple today becomes the first streaming service to secure an Emmy Award in a program category in only its second year of eligibility. After Apple’s “Ted Lasso” broke records as the most nominated freshman comedy in Emmy Award history, tonight the beloved series landed four Emmy Awards, earning prizes for Outstanding Comedy Series, Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series, Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series, and Outstanding Supporting Actress in A Comedy Series. Including the previously announced Creative Arts Emmy Awards, “Ted Lasso” took home a total of seven Emmy Awards in 2021.

“While Ted Lasso taught us to believe that anything is possible, we are so genuinely moved that this has culminated in such a historic night for both Apple TV+ and the cast and crew of this special series,” said Zack Van Amburg, Apple’s head of Worldwide Video. “Thank you to the Television Academy for these honors and congratulations to all of our storytellers — both behind and in front of the camera — who have worked so tirelessly to bring unique perspectives to global audiences over this past year, delivering hope, light, humor, and compelling stories when we needed it most.”
“What Jason, Bill, Brendan, Joe, and the entire creative team and cast of ‘Ted Lasso’ have accomplished within just one season speaks to the power of the intricately crafted storytelling that continues to inspire and uplift audiences all over the world,” said Jamie Erlicht, Apple’s head of Worldwide Video. “This recognition from the Television Academy is a testament to their tremendous talents, and we send our heartfelt congratulations to Team Lasso for their achievements.”

After leading the pack with the most-nominated series regulars ever for a freshman comedy, first-time nominees and stars Jason Sudeikis, Hannah Waddingham and Brett Goldstein nabbed their first-ever Emmy Awards. Star and executive producer Sudeikis also became the first lead actor in a freshman comedy series to be honored with awards for both a lead performance and best series for a freshman comedy. “Ted Lasso” casting director Theo Park also earned the award for Outstanding Casting for a Comedy Series.

At last week’s ceremony for the Creative Arts Emmy Awards, Apple landed seven Emmy Awards, including three for “Ted Lasso.” Apple TV+ also made history by becoming the first streaming service to win the Emmy for Outstanding Documentary or Nonfiction Special in its first two years of eligibility for the acclaimed Apple Original documentary “Boys State.”

The only real awards “Lasso” lost were Best Comedy Writing and Direction, which went to Jean Smart starrer “Hacks”.

The full winners list is here.

First footage from Sex and the City revival airs

Schwarzenegger lost Cry Macho role to Eastwood